RSS

Review of 2014 Halloween Horror Nights 4 (HHN4) At Resort World Sentosa

03 Nov

This was my very first time attending a Halloween event. Thus, I did not really know what to expect for when my hubby and I had reached the Universal Studio Singapore (USS) for the HHN4 event. Although 01 November marked the last day of HHN4, it was still packed with a lot of visitors, waiting to enter the park and had fun in the HHN4 event.

There were mini carts selling little “devil’s like horn” hair band (which could be lighted up), lighted scientific sword like rods and more. A corner had been catered for those who would like to get their face painted in the Halloween theme. Some of the USS staff were already dressed and “make-up” for the Halloween theme. You could see them running about, trying to get all the excited visitors (hahah, including us) to queue and get ready to enter the park. This was when we had met our friends coincidentally. We had then decided to form a team impromptu and go in together.

Our team was consisted with a mixture of first timers (like both my hubby and me) and seasoned supporters (for those have attended all HHN events without fail). Hahah, we started off entering the park with a seasoned “leader” in front, leading us and another seasoned one at the back. All the first timers will be “well protected” in the middle of the team.

Upon attending the park, we had to wait and watch how the story line progresses. This was portrayed through via a performance. It seemed that a political figure had been assassinated and he had risen up to become the Minister of Evil, creating havoc and chaos through the 4 houses and 4 scare zones. To give some credit, this performance, coupled with the musical and lightning effects, had indeed, raised the excitement and anticipation to the maximum. The only complaint that I would have is that it is too crowded and we were unable to hear and watch the progress of the story line clearly.

Once the performance had ended, we were then allowed to roam about freely in the park, choosing to go to which house or scare zone. Canyon of the Cursed, was the nearest attraction near to the entrance. However, we had given it a miss as there were too many people queuing for it, waiting for the designated time to view the show for this scare zone.

Jacks’ 3 Dementia

Next, we had come to the nearest house, Jacks’ 3 Dementia. The queue was super long, winding into a few long rows. It was actually quite exhausting to be in the queue for at least 30 minutes. We were perspiring madly with sweat and tired with the long minutes of standing in the queue. When was our turn, we took a 3D spectacles each, helping one another to put on this spectacles before entering the entrance.

WoW! This was my first thought when I entered this attraction. I was quite impressed with the decoration. It was quite colorful and with the help of the lightnings effect, it seemed that I was at another dimension. This was also when I was caught unaware by one of the sinister looking clowns! My god! He had been hiding in one of the dimmed corner all along! Seizing the fact that I was paying attention to the colorful environment, he had taken the opportunity to step into the light and scare me! I have become his prey!  -_-|||

I was scared out of my wits! I screamed and quivered with fear for a moment. Hahah. My friend, who is behind me, has been shocked by my screams rather than the clown. My hubby has decided to hold my hand and lead me as we ventured further in. Although my hubby had pointed out the possibilities of where the clowns might be hiding along the way, I was still caught unaware by these clowns for a few times. I guess, my brain was not fully functioning at that time to register what my hubby’s pointers… I remembered staring at one of the clowns with a pair of almost watery eyes. From the way his foot had been stepped out, I guess he wanted to scare me as well. Well, I guess he had later decided not to as I was too frightened. Hahah =P

When we were about to near the exit, we would need to walk pass a bridge in a very bright, colorful and rotating environment. It was as if we were walking through a bridge in a kaleidoscope. This was also where that I almost given up! Why? This was because when I was crossing the bridge, I was unable to conquer my own fear. I was paralyzed with fear ( I suspect) and felt giddy. I have had this scary feeling that I would fall off the bridge if I were to continue to walk to the opposite side. In the end, my hubby had to practically drag me out!  =X

You can imagine my relief when I was out of this house… Hahah

Bogeyman

The next attraction that we had gone to was one of the scare zones, Bogeyman. There was not much people here and thus, we were able to get in to this scare zone fast. Of cos, after the first episode,  my hubby had told me that the “ghosts” would aim me and take the opportunity to scare me if I looked frightened. I would need to look at their face. In this way, they would know that I know where they were hiding and they would not be able to scare me even if they attempted to do so. Hearing this sound advice, I had told myself to conquer my fears!

Off we go. For this scare zone, it was not really as fantastic as the Jack’s 3 Dementia.It was decorated with many rags, hanging in the ceilings. There were many cages and beds around. The “ghosts’ would either be in the cages, or sitting on the beds or hiding in some dimmed corners, waiting for an opportunity to scare us. My hubby had practically pointed out all the locations where they were hiding or located at.

Following my hubby’s instructions, I forced myself to look at or stare into the face of most of the “ghosts”. They were all heavily carrying a very heavy and gruesome makeup. True enough, they had left me alone. I was feeling so accomplished and ya ya when I was out of this scare zone. Hahah =P

Jing’s Revenge

We had passed by Demoncracy. This is another scare zone which has a few scheduled shows. In order not to waste time, we had given this a miss as well and proceed straight on to Jing’s Revenge. Jing’s Revenge was the 2nd house that we would be going. When we reached there, oh my, the queue was even worse off than the queue that we had queue for Jack’s 3 Dementia! While queuing, we could hear that the show for Demoncracy has started (Demoncracy is just located next to Jing’s Revenge).

We queued for about 45 minutes or more before it was our turn to enter the house. My God! I could feel the eerie effect that this house portrayed when we were about to enter. The flickering lights added to the allure of eeriness. I was practically cling on to my hubby’s hand and desperately reminding myself to remember to look at the “ghosts”. Hahah, my earlier “ya ya-ness” had totally disappeared at this stage.

To me, this house was scary as these were all Asean ghosts. This was really close to heart. Furthermore, it was often dimmed and dark rather than bright (I hate darkness). There were too many cabinets and trap doors for the ghosts to hide in and sneaked out when the opportunity struck. Along the way, there were many real “ghosts” standing motionless at 1 side, waiting for the opportunity to catch you unaware. In addition, there were also dolls added in to create certain amount of confusion and to lower down your guard.

Lucky for me, the “surprise attacks” were often after me. I guess either I was lucky or I really had that misleading “brave and unafraid” look. Hahah  =X   I have managed to escape unscathed. Phew!

After this house, my hubby and I had decided that it was time that we went home since we were feeling very tired. Our friends went ahead for the 2 other houses,  Mati Camp and The Lab, and the remaining scary zone, Scary Tales.

It was really a very fun and enjoyable night! My hubby and I were still buzzing with excitement when we were in the cab home. The only regret is that we are unable to complete all the houses and scary zones. We have already decided to opt for the express Queue ticket or the VIP group for HHN5.

Hehe, I can’t wait for HHN5 to arrive soon! =D

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in Passing Thoughts...

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
